Old memory weekend!

Normally people would tend to say that youre not old when youre 25. After living together with my lovely sister Annie, I started to realize that this might not be totally true. And after that weekend I recognized: Shit, she is maybe right.
Saturday I met my friend Maria. Five years before we started to study together at the same university here in Dresden. After one year of studying I quitted my course of studies and changed to another university in Zwickau. Being out of the scene I thought that the contact between my former fellow students and I would break down, but it didn't. So more or less we tried to see each other as often as we could and due to the fact that almost all of them lived in my lovely hometown Dresden, it wasn't that difficult to realize that.
Maria and I had been through a lot - our friendship was like an emotianl rollercoaster. However since the first day I met her I appreciated her being around me and really liked her way of living and seeing things. It kept me thinking about me and although we have been arguing sometimes we shared a lot of nice and important moments in my life. Since a couple of month she's living in Berlin and it was nice when she called me and said: "Well I'm gonna be in Dresden - what about you? Do we wanna meet?". So we met each other in the city center to just sit down for a while and enjoy a coffee together. Talking about our lifes now and future jobs was kinda scary. We remembered when we had our first lections and being totally frustrated that we should study for four or five more years. We could never imagine to write a diploma thesis. And now here we are: Both of us are almost finished and we're talking about future life including jobs, kids, husband and all the other grown up stuff!
Taking a little shopping tour she was inviting me to a party later that day where quite a lot of my other former fellow students would be. So heading of to that party, everyone was totally surprised to see me. After a really warm welcome everyone was interested in what I'm doing and I just wanted to know what the others have been up to.

So taking a trip down the memory lane made me realize that we all got a little bit older. But I have to admit that I do like it. I'm not scared about getting some wrinkles. I do like what is happening with you when youre turning older: Your way of thinking, of acting, your change of goals and so on. It's exciting and I'm really happy that I'm not 16 any more (Yes Annie, I AM!). It feels so good to finally know who you really are and what you prioritise in life. I do believe that I'm way stronger and I really like that.
As someone said to me: "I like getting old. I like it what it is doing with me and my head". And hell yeah, I do agree!


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0